COLORSCAPES, 1994–2021

 

The “Colorscapes” are inspired by remarkable formations and archaic natural phenomena, like those which can be experienced in the Alps or on Iceland. A fierce storm, the coldness of a glacier or the red-hot ground of a volcanic fissure can provide the impulse for an artistic process.

 

However, a work might also begin with intuitively applied colors and structures that only coalesce into a motif during the course of the painting process.

 

Through the choice of color and the nearly complete renunciation of perspective, the picture becomes an expressive and two-dimensional “colorscape.” Painting and graphic elements complement one another. The preferred media are acrylic paints, ink and colored pencils.

Natural processes are also integrated: The freshly applied color is exposed to rain or snow — the paint freezes and displays new textures in the process of thawing. Natural materials like ash become a pigment in the Iceland series, for example, or establish new haptic accents.

 

Instead of the representation of a real landscape, what emerges are spontaneous, intuitive and emotionally charged “colorscapes” on canvas, plywood panels or paper.

 

 

LJUBLJANA, 2018–2021

 

Since 2018, the majority of works have been created in the Slovenian capital of Ljubljana. The world of the Karavankas and the Julian Alps, with their rugged and splintered rock formations, and the bizarre forms that appear in the Slovenian karst — with the fractured structures of its stone, eroded and filled with holes — inspire non-objective compositions.

 

Works on paper related to national history or social themes are also created spontaneously, for example, a double portrait featuring Martin Luther and Primož Trubar, the great Protestant Reformer and founder of Slovenian literature, or the “Vizija – Katedrala Svobode,” which was developed spontaneously on a used peace of cardboard and is based on an unrealized vision of the iconic Slovenian architect Jože Plečnik.

FARBLANDSCHAFTEN 1994 – 2021

 

Die „Farblandschaften“ sind inspiriert von markanten Formationen und archaischen Naturphänomenen, wie sie in den Alpen oder auf Island zu erleben sind. Ein heftiger Sturm, die Kälte eines Gletschers oder der glühend heiße Boden an einer Vulkanspalte können Anstoß für den künstlerischen Prozess sein.

 

Ausgangspunkt einer Arbeit können jedoch auch intuitiv gesetzte Farben und Strukturen sein, die sich erst im Laufe des Malprozesses auf ein Motiv hin verdichten.

 

Durch die Farbwahl und den weitgehenden Verzicht auf Perspektive wird das Bild zur expressiv-flächigen „Farblandschaft“. Malerei und zeichnerische Elemente ergänzen sich dabei. Es werden bevorzugt Acrylfarbe, Tusche und Farbstift eingesetzt.

Auch Prozesse der Natur werden integriert: Der frische Farbauftrag wird Regen oder Schnee ausgesetzt; Farbe gefriert und zeigt im Tauprozess neue Strukturen. Naturmaterialien wie Asche werden beispieweise in der Island-Serie zum Farbpigment oder setzen neue haptische Akzente.

 

Statt der Abbildung einer realen Landschaft entstehen spontane, intuitive und emotional geprägte „Farblandschaften“ auf Leinwand, Schichtplatte oder Papier.

 

 

LJUBLJANA 2018 - 2021

 

Seit 2018 entstehen die Arbeiten überwiegend in der slowenischen Hauptstadt Ljubljana. Die Welt der Karawanken und der Julischen Alpen mit ihren schroffen und splittrigen Felsformen und die bizarren Erscheinungsformen des slowenischen Karsts mit seinen zerklüfteten, wasserzerfressenen und löchrigen Steinstrukturen inspirieren zu gegenstandslosen Kompositionen.

 

Arbeiten auf Papier entstehen s auch zu landesgeschichtlichen oder gesellschaftlichen Themen; beispielsweise ein Doppelportrait von Martin Luther und Primož Trubar, dem großen Reformator und Begründer des slowenischen Schrifttums, oder die spontan auf einer Arbeitsunterlage entwickelte „Vizija - Katedrala Svobode" nach dem Vorbild einer nie realisierten Vision der slowenischen Architektur-Ikone Jože Plečnik.